Little spider

“I have lived eighty years of life and know nothing for it, but to be resigned and tell myself that flies are born to be eaten by spiders and man to be devoured by sorrow.” -Voltaire

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mad Annie, Bronwyn, Ann
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 15:26:49

    There are times I wish I could have kicked Voltaire in the butt.

    Sorrow is a part of life, but we can chose not to be devoured by it. We can CHOSE to look for the happiness in life. Humans are not flies.

    Reply

    • Whimsical KT
      Oct 15, 2012 @ 00:59:14

      LOL! I don’t think Voltaire was saying that humans are flies… I think he was saying that it is part of life, just as you stated sorrow is part of life. At 80yrs of age, to say he was devoured by sorrow… I get that. To have had many loved ones pass, to see much horror and atrocities dished out to the undeserving…
      I think if he was devoured by sorrow after all he fought against and all he fought for, and made very little difference… at the end how could one not be sad?
      He died at age 83. Supposedly he became sick and wrote, “”I die adoring God, loving my friends, not hating my enemies, and detesting superstition.” However he recovered and then died a short time later… its unclear what his last words and actions were. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t agree with all of Voltaire’s views.
      I agree with you, it can at times be a choice after one has had time to be sorrowful. Grief is nessasary.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

ALL Images, Illustrations, Photos Are Copyrighted BY K.T.A and MAY NOT be authorized for use in any way without consent of K.T.A . Written Permission required for use of any images, photos, illustrations, and material. THAT includes Writing! (Unless otherwise stated)
