Bride and Seek

I LOVE a good ghost story! I especially like the ones that leave you with feelings and thoughts that there is a possibility for truth. Unfortunately, sometimes they are!
 
 *turns flashlight on under face*
It was a glorious day! A young beautiful woman was getting married to the man of her hopes and dreams. It was a fantastic wedding. The party afterwards was being held in a large building close to the church. In honor of the brides playful side, the reception was themed on children’s games, like tag and duck duck goose. The first game they played that day was hide ‘n’ seek. The bride ran upstairs to the third floor of the building. Assuming that the seeker was almost done counting, she hurried to clear some decaying odds and ends from there resting place upon a large wood trunk. The trunk was nestled quietly towards the back of the room. She jumped in with ease. She waited and waited. Thinking she was the victor of the game she started to sit up and push the trunk lid open. Having jumped into the trunk in such a rush, she hadn’t noticed the sound of the Click as it had jammed in place.
 
“Hello?” she called. “Is anybody there? I need help, I’m in the trunk.”

Silence.

“Help! Help ME! I’m stuck in here!” She cried, panic gripping her. She began to Scream. “Help! I’m trapped in the trunk! Get me out Please! She began to sob, panicked and terrified. “Please come back and get me… please…”

But no one ever did…


The mistletoe hung in the castle hall,

The holly branch shone on the old oak wall;
And the baron’s retainers were blithe and gay,
And keeping their Christmas holiday.
 
The baron beheld with a father’s pride
His beautiful child, young Lovell’s bride;
While she with her bright eyes seemed to be
The star of the goodly company.
 
‘I’m weary of dancing now,” she cried;
“Here, tarry a moment – I’ll hide – I’ll hide!
And, Lovell, be sure thou’rt first to trace
The clew to my secret lurking place.”
 
Away she ran – and her friends began
Each tower to search, and each nook to scan;
And young Lovell cried, “O, where dost thou hide?
I’m lonesome without thee, my own dear bride.”
They sought her that night! and they sought her next day!
And they sought her in vain while a week passed away!
In the highest, the lowest, the loneliest spot,
Young Lovell sought wildly – but found her not.
 
And years flew by, and their grief at last
Was told as a sorrowful tale long past;
And when Lovell appeared the children cried,
“See! the old man weeps for his fairy bride.”
 
At length an oak chest, that had long lain hid,
Was found in the castle-they raised the lid,
And a skeleton form lay moldering there
In the bridal wreath of that lady fair!
 
0, sad was her fate!-in sportive jest
She hid from her lord in the old oak chest.
It closed with a spring!-and, dreadful doom,
The bride lay clasp’d in her living tomb!
 
(Many versions of the Bride and Seek story have been told through out the ages. The most popular American version supposedly took place in 1975 somewhere in Florida. However the origins of the story date further back than 1975. The poem/ballad above was written by Thomas Haynes Bayley (1797-1839)
Other similar versions of the story are popular in other countries as well. It is believed that this did actually happen to an unfortunate bride, but not in America.)
22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianabal
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 12:23:43

    I love twopartswhimsicalonepartpeculiar.wordpress.com , bookmarked for future reference

    Reply

  2. Aurea Pinegar
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 12:53:28

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.

    Reply

  3. two parts whimsical one part peculiar
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 23:06:14

    Thank You! Your kindness is appricated! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Allyn Wahlquist
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 02:46:32

    Fantastic piece of writing together with convenient that will understand story. How do That i set about gaining agreement that will put up part within the article in doing my coming bulletin? Offering good credit ranking to your any source together with weblink into the web page will not manifest as a challenge.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Timex watch
  6. Diego Swanagan
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 22:49:36

    Remarkable page as well as convenient in order to comprehend justification. Exactly how can We start gaining concur in order to put up part from the guide during my coming bulletin? Getting good credit score for you the actual journalist as well as backlink towards the websites won’t be considered a challenge.

    Reply

  7. android apps
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 13:24:37

    Bride and Seek twopartswhimsicalonepartpeculiar Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more Bride and Seek twopartswhimsicalonepartpeculiar again from you. Thanks For Share .

    Reply

  8. Dottie Madon
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 00:50:35

    I will be often blogging and i truly appreciate your content. This article has really peaked my attention. My goal is to save your site and keep looking at for first time details.

    Reply

  9. Albertine Wingrove
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 13:03:57

    Excellent report and easy to understand explanation. How do I go about getting permission to post part of the article in my upcoming newsletter? Giving proper credit to you the article author and hyperlink to the site would not be a problem.

    Reply

  10. cover letter
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 08:27:19

    Bride and Seek twopartswhimsicalonepartpeculiar Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far more Bride and Seek twopartswhimsicalonepartpeculiar again from you. Thanks For Share .

    Reply

  11. Noah Bagron
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 12:09:35

    It’s the pity you actually don’t possess a donate switch! I’d most likely donate to this superior site! We suppose that for now i’ll are satisfied with book-marking as well as adding your own Rss feed in order to my personal Search engines accounts. We appear forth in order to recent posts and can show this particular web page along with my personal Myspace group: )

    Reply

  12. Dewayne Ordal
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 14:02:26

    Great document plus easy so that you can figure out justification. Exactly how can I actually approach getting concur so that you can post element of your document at my upcoming newsletter? Getting proper consumer credit back a publisher plus web page link to your web-site won’t often be a problem.

    Reply

  13. darts
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 13:37:07

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was pretty good. Cheers!

    Reply

  14. NCAA 18in Titanium Necklace
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 14:35:57

    Terrific, that’s exactly what I was searching for! You just spared me alot of searching around

    Reply

  15. Elton Daczewitz
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 16:41:57

    I ought to say, youve got one of the very best blogs Ive noticed in a lengthy time. What I wouldnt give to be able to produce a blog thats as interesting as this. I guess Ill just need to maintain reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as a lot expertise as youve got on this 1!

    Reply

  16. BG mail
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 17:05:45

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as neatly as with the format to your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to see a great blog like this one these days.

    Reply

  17. Demetrius Royse
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 19:39:53

    Pretty great post. I actually just became aware of your weblog and wanted to express that I’ve extremely enjoyed reading your blog and threads. Nonetheless I’ll be subscribing your feed and I hope to browse your blog again.

    Reply

  18. california business litigation
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 04:00:11

    This is great and you do a outstanding job. I appreciate it.

    Reply

  19. Leonor Sitkiewicz
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 08:07:04

    Wohh precisely what I was looking for, regards for posting.

    Reply

  20. water conservation cards
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 15:21:31

    Great post, Love it. Keep it up. Thanks!

    Reply

  21. Walnut Creek Teacher rights
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 22:51:52

    Great article. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ALL Images, Illustrations, Photos Are Copyrighted BY K.T.A and MAY NOT be authorized for use in any way without consent of K.T.A . Written Permission required for use of any images, photos, illustrations, and material. THAT includes Writing! (Unless otherwise stated)
